BMS Blunders III

After I moved to Leicestershire one of the things I inherited was a pile of premises’ energy surveys that no-one had had time to analyse let alone act on. I resolved that (without resource to deal with them more proactively) they would become my casual reading when I had a gap between more important tasks.
So across time I noted a premise for better heating controls, others for lighting upgrades, another for insulation work, that sort of thing. Then I came across the report for Mountsorrel depot and was galvanised to action and placed an immediate order for work at the site.
Why was I urged to immediate action, without stopping for a feasibility study, business case or even a quotation as a local authority manager would normally consider standard procedure?
The story the report told (and one was done because the small building was a surprisingly poor performer in energy terms) was compelling. People in the building were generally complaining about overheating but it had a relatively good BMS and the settings were correct. What was the issue?
Well in the survey the location of the temperature sensor was noted as in a busy office near the rear door of the building. Lots of people, lots of equipment, that room soon got warm – in fact too warm. So they opened the door to cool down. Yes that cooled down the sensor as well and it called for more heat , so they opened the door wider … a vicious circle resulting in the entire building overheating and wasting energy by the bucketful.
Now I could have had the door locked (although that might have had safety implications) and the sensor setting lowered (to reduce the initial overheating) but that would have had implications on cooler rooms in the building.
So I immediately instructed that the sensor be moved into another room -with the words I don’t care what it costs, delay is costing money that is greater than the cost, the payback has to be in weeks (it was) get it done (please).
Simples

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.